City Electoral Board

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

Board Description
Every city and county in the Commonwealth of Virginia has a three-member Electoral Board, with bipartisan representation, which is appointed to administer fair, free, open and transparent elections. Recommendations for appointment are made by local political parties and are court appointed for each county or city. Some duties of the Electoral Board are to appoint the General Registrar and Officers of Election for their county or city, train Officers of Election, purchase and maintain the voting equipment, prepare ballots, administer absentee ballot process, conduct elections in a secure and non-partisan manner and certify the results of elections. Electoral Boards ensure the integrity of our election process.


Meeting Date/Time/Location
The board meets as needed in order to fulfill duties related to the elections cycle, as well as those designated by the State Board of Elections.

See Calendar


PDF[81KB] Minutes from July 11, 2016 Meeting

PDF[86KB] Minutes from July 19, 2016 Meeting

PDF[121KB] Minutes from July 25, 2016 Meeting

PDF[220KB] Minutes from August 8, 2016 Meeting 

PDF[68KB] Minutes from August 15, 2016 Meeting

PDF[166KB] Minutes from August 23, 2016 Meeting



Harrisonburg City's Electoral Board

Chair: Sandra Price-Stroble:

Vice Chair: William Ney:

Secretary: Jane Grant Burner:

The Harrisonburg City Electoral Board is comprised of three members who are appointed by a majority of the Circuit Court judges of the City for a three year staggered term. Two members represent the political party of the Governor currently in office and one member represents the political party having the second highest number of votes for governor at the last preceding gubernatorial election.


Back to City Boards and Commissions.